RSS Feed

And Seen…X-Men Days of Future Past!

Posted on

X-Men Days of Future Past

 

We came out of our mini retirement for X-Men Days of Future Past. And then Traci went to Bali. Since we couldn’t get into the studio here is our conversation about the movie…

 

 

TRACI: You know it’s a legit screening when they take your phones.
JULIE: That really cut into my plans of making a Fassbender photo collage. I think Magneto is his sexiest character.
TRACI: More than Shame?
JULIE: You know the answer. Though just like in Shame did you notice him wearing a scarf/ascot?
TRACI: It was the 70’s, plus he really works that look.
JULIE: True. But here’s a twist I didn’t see coming, I also found James McAvoy (Charles Xavier) to be attractive in this. But I think it might have been because he looked like Eddie Vedder.
TRACI: I just thought that look was sad seventies. What I found surprising was the 3-D didn’t really bother me, and I usually hate it.
JULIE: Same, I kind of felt like we were in the movie.
TRACI: That might have been because we were sitting so close.
JULIE: What did you think of the movie overall? This was your second X-Men.
TRACI: Like the last one I thought it was entertaining and you don’t really have to be a fan of the series to enjoy it.
JULIE: But if you are a fan and read the comic books (Ryan) you will still enjoy the characters. Plus all the inside jokes, they always allow you to nerd out a little. They did take some liberties with the time travel though.
TRACI:I guess in a movie about mutants you can be loose with those kinds of things. Let’s talk about Wolverine’s (Hugh Jackman) neck size. How is he that old and that ripped?
JULIE: Maybe he’s a real life wolverine? His veins looked like they were trying to escape his body.
TRACI: They made that comment about him not aging, but when he looked into his “younger” bodies self there seemed to be a lot more wrinkles.
JULIE: Do you think they felt boxed in with Mystique? Because you get the original (old? current?) version of a lot of the characters, but since Jennifer Lawrence has blown up do they really want to remind us of Rebecca Romain (no longer Stamos)?
TRACI: They did in the last one. But Jennifer Lawrence wasn’t really on the scene then. Maybe it’s a lesson to not cast models in movies just because they look good in the body paint outfit.
JULIE: JLaw wasn’t as exciting to me as she was in the first one, but I don’t know why. Do we know her too well, do I expect too much, is she now only my Katniss and not my Mystique?
TRACI: I really liked that kid from American Horror Story’s character, and that slow motion scene with all the cops.
JULIE: You know I love a scene when the audience all claps. I was kind of bummed there wasn’t more Quicksilver in the movie. He’s a really fun character.
TRACI: Do you think Evan Peters wishes he had that superpower in real life?
JULIE: So he could run away when his girlfriend tries to attack him?
TRACI: Yep. I’m not really sure about Peter Dinklage (Dr. Trask) in this. I just didn’t buy him as the bad guy.
JULIE: It was hard to focus on anything other than his hair.
TRACI: It was so puffy.
[Names removed to prevent spoilers]
JULIE: That scene when BLANK is killed and thrown over the balcony, I had no feelings about it.  It felt odd that I’ve gone from being super excited the first time I saw that character on the screen to kind of eh.
TRACI: I don’t have that kind of relationship with the characters, but I was kind of sad about it. It almost felt like a comment on their career in general. Did you like the last one more than this one?
JULIE: In ways, there was more fun and surprises in the first one as they revealed the characters. But it was also so long and political.
TRACI: Yeah this one was easier to follow. It felt more engaging.
JULIE: Would you see it in the theater?
TRACI:Absolutely. You?
JULIE: In the theater and in 3-D even!

If you want to see our thoughts on X-Men First Class you can watch our review from way back in the day before we went to green screen.

3 responses »

  1. Welcome back! Your loyal following has missed you. The films always take a back seat to your reviews.

    Reply
  2. AwesomeSauce. Glad to see you gals haven’t left us. I hope you can get back on the green screen again soon

    Reply
  3. So happy you are back! Can’t wait to see you both again. Fun review. Keep us informed of what to see during the summer. Don’t want to waste time or money on something BAD.

    Reply

Leave a comment